Unarmed Security Guard Requirements

Print pagePDF pageEmail page

unarmedThe state of Texas requires security guards to be licensed; this licensing includes training that must be completed prior to an Texas unarmed security license being issued. The Texas unarmed security licenses are issued for the amount of two years; during this time. This licensing will open up opportunities in the security sector both public and private for the unarmed security guard in the state of Texas. There will also be other requirements that need to be fulfilled such as:

  • The applicant must have a valid Texas driver’s license.
  • Any person applying for an unarmed security guard license in Texas must be at least 18 years of age.
  • The applicant will submit to a background check.
  • The applicant will submit fingerprints.
  • To be approved for an Texas unarmed security guard licenses; there can be no felony convictions or certain misdemeanor offenses.
  • A social security number must be provided.

The state requires a written form to be filled out both front and back providing all the information asked for to be issued an unarmed security guard license in the state of Texas. This form will require personal information, fingerprints and other information. There will also need to be proof supplied that there has been training at a state certified training facility, which is required prior to applying for the license. The training that will be provided will include:

  • Training in legal and ethical issues.
  • The use of limited force
  • How to properly report to authorities
  • Write proper written reports
  • How to deal with medical emergencies including first aid and CPR
  • How to deal with fire emergencies
  • Crowd control
  • Detainment of suspects

The training provided by the Texas state certified facility would enable the unarmed security guard to work in the security sector and to competently report to officials in written reports. The unarmed security guard will have training in the proper handling of emergency situations and crowd control during an emergency should one arise while they are on duty. Trainees will also learn the importance of properly writing reports and the format used. This training and being issued an Texas unarmed security guard license will qualify this person to be employed in the security sector in many areas:

  • Residential communities
  • Schools
  • Colleges
  • Public buildings
  • Hotels
  • Apartment complexes
  • Parks
  • Malls

There are other types of employment in the security sector that the unarmed security guard will be qualified to fill after their state certified training and their license has been issued. The types of employment this licensed unarmed security guard will work in will not require them to carry a firearm. In order to carry a firearm there is more extensive training required and weapons training, so that the security guard would be able to qualify for a weapons license.

The State of Texas collects reasonable fees for the administration and regulation of licenses.

 

(a) Personal Security License – New Non-Commissioned Unarmed Application $33.00
(b) Personal Security License – New Commissioned Armed Application $55.00
(c) Personal Security License – New Personal Protection Officer Application $55.00
(d) Personal Security License – Non-Commissioned Renewal $33.00
(e) Personal Security License – Commissioned Renewal $55.00
(f) Personal Security License – Personal Protection Officer Renewal $55.00
(g) Personal Security License – Non-Commissioned Late Renewal Fee $48.00 < 90 Days
(h) Personal Security License – Commissioned Late Renewal Fee $80.00 < 90 Days
(i) Personal Security License – Personal Protection Officer Late Renewal Fee $80.00 < 90 Days

 

Licensing Body:
Texas Department of Public Safety
http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/rsd/psb/

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

1 + 1 =