Unarmed Security Guard Requirements

Print pagePDF pageEmail page

armedThe state of Colorado requires people employed as a security guard to apply and hold a valid security guard license during the duration of their employment. There are requirements that must be met to obtain a security guard license and will be applied for at the City Clerk’s Office, the application will be accompanied with the proper documentation and fee.

In the State of Colorado the licensing of the unarmed security guard is done on a city level, rather than a state level. The licensing is governed by Colorado Article V Chapter 42, which outlines the requirements to obtain the unarmed guard license.

These requirements include:

  • The applicant will be at least 18 years old.
  • They will be a resident of Colorado.
  • They will be a citizen or legal resident of the United States.
  • They will have a valid photo ID, either a valid Colorado driver’s license or a Colorado state identification card.
  • A valid social security number.
  • Fingerprints will be submitted and a complete FBI style background check
  • A health certificate by a licensed physician or physician’s assistant will be submitted that is within 60 days of the application. This certificate will show there are no medical conditions that will affect the unarmed security guards duties.

In the state of Colorado there are weapons regulations about the different types of weapons that can be used by the security guard; these include a knife, mace and a nightstick.

Knife: The unarmed security guard in the state of Colorado will not carry a knife that is more than 3 inches.

Knight sticks: Will not be longer than 26 inches and no more than 1 inch in diameter. There is a requirement for the security guard that carries a night stick to take an 8 hour training course in the use of the weapon and the effects it can have when used.

Mace: The use of mace is permitted in the state of Colorado, to protect the security guard or a third person. Mace is also permitted to be used to stop the commission of a felony. The regulation for the security guard carrying mace is one canister of mace or similar compound.

When force is used with a weapon in the state of Colorado a written report of the indecent must be filed with the Department of Excise and Licenses within 3 days.

The unarmed security guard training will educate the person in a variety of skills; these will prepare the guard to handle different situations that can occur while working in the security field. It will also train them in dealing with authorities, emergency situations and the public.

Training for the unarmed security guard will include:

  • Working in a public setting
  • Ethics and legal issues
  • Proper written reports
  • Emergency training
  • The legal use of force
  • Detainment of suspects

The employment that is open to the licensed unarmed security guard will include both private and public locations. The duties will include protection of the location without use of deadly force with the use of a firearm.

These locations unarmed security personnel can find open to them once licensed include:

  • Schools and colleges
  • Hospitals and other medical environments
  • Airports, bus and train stations
  • Private offices
  • Government offices
  • Malls and other public settings
  • Housing areas and apartment buildings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

88 + = 92